Spellcasters, Rajat Chaudhuri

Business reporter by day, dreamcatcher by night, Chanchal Mitra wakes up in a far-off desert town, sharing a dingy hotel room with the flamboyant Mr. Kapoor, who is planning to abduct a billionaire. Kapoor insists that the billionaire tycoon is an impostor. Chanchal is unwittingly drawn into the plot. Soon […]

Read More

The Good-Hearted Gardeners, Suniti Namjoshi

The Good-Hearted Gardeners (Spinifexpress) is eco-fiction with a twist. Can the headlong rush to extinction be halted? Will the planet and its inhabitants be saved? Suniti Namjoshi is an internationally acclaimed author, a writer of fables, poetry, satirical fiction, and children’s fiction. Born in Mumbai in 1941, she lives in a […]

Read More

Spotlight – ​’Cúagilákv (Jess H̓áust̓i), Crushed Wild Mint

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book   This month we travel back to Canada, to the beautiful temperate rainforest on British Columbia’s west coast, to talk with Jess Housty, a writer and grassroots activist of Heiltsuk (Indigenous) and mixed settler heritage. They are based […]

Read More

Fire in the Canyon, Daniel Gumbiner

This is a story about grape growing and wine, financial and familial struggles, and the peculiar characters and unlikely heroes one will always find in small-town California. Through the experiences of the Hechts and the escalating challenges that face their community, Fire in the Canyon is an intimate look at […]

Read More

Book Recommendations

Because I’ve written (or have found) quite a few lists of ecologically oriented fiction, I thought I’d finally compile them for readers wanting to know about some of the best eco-fiction stories. There’s always the big database, too, where you can search by author, title, audience, genre, and more. My […]

Read More

Climate and Ecological Films

Eco-fiction isn’t limited to just the written word. It can include films and even games. Check back often, as I will update this post when new movies come out. This is just a sample listing, so if you think something should be included, please contact me. Most of these films […]

Read More

Spotlight – The Storm, Arif Anwar

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book     At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, Arif Anwar’s The Storm (Washington Square Press, 2021) “moves us deftly through time and across borders, beautifully illustrating the strange intersections we call fate, and reminding us how […]

Read More

Indie Corner – J.J. Green – The Last Good Summer

Back to the Indie Corner series In this Indie Corner, I talk with J.J. Green, author of The Last Good Summer, published earlier this year and which is available from the usual online outlets as well as directly from the publisher, The Book Guild. I was intrigued because it’s set […]

Read More

The Deep Sky, Yume Kitasei

Yume Kitasei’s The Deep Sky is an enthralling sci-fi thriller debut about a mission into deep space that begins with a lethal explosion that leaves the survivors questioning the loyalty of the crew. They left Earth to save humanity. They’ll have to save themselves first. Read more at Macmillan Publishing.

Read More

Msitu: The Old-Growth Forest, Serena Echols, Nia McKenzie, Imani Blue

Step into the enchanting world of Msitu, a magnificent old-growth forest where native, non-native, and invasive species dwell together. Join the adventure as we discover the harmonious lives of the forest’s native plant species, living in perfect balance. But when unexpected outsiders disrupt this delicate equilibrium, the forest faces a […]

Read More

Spotlight – Gene Helfman

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book Gene Helfman’s new novel FINS: A Novel of Relentless Satire is available at Amazon. You can also read more about it and Gene’s other books at his website. FINS combines elements of the typical shark horror story with […]

Read More

The Great Transition, Nick Fuller Googins

For fans of Station Eleven and The Last Thing He Told Me, this richly imaginative, immersive, and “profound” (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future. Read more at Simon & Schuster. […]

Read More

Perilous Times, Thomas D. Lee

An immortal Knight of the Round Table faces his greatest challenge yet—saving the politically polarized, rapidly warming world from itself—in this slyly funny contemporary take on Arthurian legend. “A brilliant collision of ancient mysticism with modern madness.” -Robert Jackson Bennett, bestselling author of the Founders Trilogy

Read More

Kundo Wakes Up, Saad Z. Hossain

Saad Z. Hossain’s Kundo Wakes Up is a companion to the Ignyte and Locus Award-Nominated novella The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday. “Cyberpunk, high fantasy, climate catastrophe and, at its heart, a compelling story about broken people finding each other and a way to become whole again.”  -Samit Basu

Read More

The Storm, Arif Anwar

Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the United States when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar’s history, in a vil­lage on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm […]

Read More