Spotlight – Gene Helfman

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book Gene Helfman’s new novel FINS: A Novel of Relentless Satire is available at Amazon. You can also read more about it and Gene’s other books at his website. FINS combines elements of the typical shark horror story with […]

Read More

The Great Transition, Nick Fuller Googins

For fans of Station Eleven and The Last Thing He Told Me, this richly imaginative, immersive, and “profound” (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future. Read more at Simon & Schuster. […]

Read More

Perilous Times, Thomas D. Lee

An immortal Knight of the Round Table faces his greatest challenge yet—saving the politically polarized, rapidly warming world from itself—in this slyly funny contemporary take on Arthurian legend. “A brilliant collision of ancient mysticism with modern madness.” -Robert Jackson Bennett, bestselling author of the Founders Trilogy

Read More

Kundo Wakes Up, Saad Z. Hossain

Saad Z. Hossain’s Kundo Wakes Up is a companion to the Ignyte and Locus Award-Nominated novella The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday. “Cyberpunk, high fantasy, climate catastrophe and, at its heart, a compelling story about broken people finding each other and a way to become whole again.”  -Samit Basu

Read More

The Storm, Arif Anwar

Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the United States when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar’s history, in a vil­lage on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm […]

Read More

Threads that Bind, Kika Hatzopoulou

Kika Hatzopoulou’s new novel Threads That Bind is everything. A noir detective story that explores the ethical and existential questions inherent in a soulmate romance—set in a post-apocalyptic, dystopian world where the descendants of long-dead gods walk the earth and monsters rise from the sea each night—Threads That Bind is […]

Read More

Spotlight – Andrew F. Sullivan

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book This month we head virtually to near-future Toronto as we discuss Andrew F. Sullivan’s The Marigold (ECW Press, 2023). Weaving together disparate storylines and tapping into the realms of body horror, urban dystopia, and ecofiction, The Marigold explores […]

Read More

Indie Corner – Earth’s Ecocide, David A. Collier

Back to the Indie Corner series The Earth’s Ecocide science fiction series is a thousand-year story of humanity struggling to cope with climate destruction and the awakening of artificial intelligence. What will life be like if global average temperatures increase 2°, 4°, or 8° Celsius? What will life be like […]

Read More

Eco-Games

Thanks to so many wonderful game suggestions (primarily video games, but not all) from the Rewilding Our Stories community, we have a new eco-gaming section here at Dragonfly. While some games lean toward environmental lessons and strategize ways to reconstruct ecological systems, others beautifully immerse the player into an explorative […]

Read More

The Girl Who Broke the Sea, A Connors

After she gets kicked out of school for her destructive behaviour, Lily agrees to an unusual fresh start: going with her mum to live at Deephaven, an experimental deep-sea mining rig and research station located at the bottom of the ocean. Lily instantly regrets her decision: claustrophobic and isolated, it’s […]

Read More

Wolfish, Christiane M. Andrews

Inspired by Roman mythology, this mysterious and uniquely magical adventure explores the intricate roles of nature and fate in our lives, the power of language to shape our world, and the boundless importance of love and kindness. See more at Hachette Book Group.

Read More

Spotlight – Julie Janson

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book I was happy to get the chance to talk with Julie Janson, author of Madukka The River Serpent—an Indigenous crime novel about the mysterious disappearance of a Murri environmentalist, Thommo. The crime is not taken seriously by the […]

Read More

Stolen, Ann-Helén Laestadius

Translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles. Soon to be a Netflix film: Louise Erdrich meets Jo Nesbø in this spellbinding Swedish novel that follows a young indigenous woman as she struggles to defend her family’s reindeer herd and culture amidst xenophobia, climate change, and a devious hunter whose targeted kills are considered […]

Read More

The Forbidden Territory of a Terrifying Woman, Molly Lynch

Confronting the role of motherhood and the meaning of home in the wreckage of capitalism and climate change, The Forbidden Territory of a Terrifying Woman is that rare, dazzling debut that is both thrilling and profound. It is a mystery, a play on myths of metamorphosis, and above all, a […]

Read More

Haven, Emma Donoghue

In seventh-century Ireland, a scholar and priest called Artt has a dream telling him to leave the sinful world behind. Taking two monks—young Trian and old Cormac—he rows down the river Shannon in search of an isolated spot on which to found a monastery. Drifting out into the Atlantic, the […]

Read More