World Eco-fiction Series

Welcome to the World Eco-fiction Series: Climate Change and Beyond. This spotlight series travels the planet exploring fictional stories close to natural landscapes and wildlife, often with environmental concerns. If you like this series, check out our article at Medium, “Around the World in 80 Books: A Guide to Ecological […]

Read More

News and Events

Dragonfly has changed from Substack to Buttondown for our newsletter. Subscribe to our newsletter to read more news, and see our news archives here. Note that this newsletter is free. Donations are accepted, but nothing is behind a paywall. NecronomiCon is happening August 15-18, 2024 in Providence, RI. How I […]

Read More

Indie Corner – The Groundworld Heroes, Adrian So

About the Book   This Indie Corner shares a Turning the Tide spotlight, which is a section of the site that highlights eco-fiction for younger audiences. In fact, this month’s author, Adrian So, had his novel accepted for publication at age 14. The Groundworld Heroes is coming out this August […]

Read More

The Southern Reach Series, Jeff VanderMeer

New Addition Out on October 22, 2024 is a surprise 4th volume, Absolution. Structured in three parts, each recounting a new expedition, Absolution is a brilliant, beautiful, and ever-terrifying plunge into unique and fertile literary territory. There are some long-awaited answers here, to be sure, but also more questions, and […]

Read More

Spotlight – Renan Bernardo

About the Book Renan Bernardo’s Different Kinds of Defiance (Android Press, March 2024) is a collection for the rebels at heart—for those who find courage where hope seems lost and for whom every act of resistance is an act of sheer will. From the sunbaked docks of a Rio de […]

Read More

Virgil Harbor, Julia Glass

When two unexpected visitors arrive in an insular coastal village, they threaten the equilibrium of a community already confronting climate instability, political violence, and domestic upheavals. Read more at Penguin Random House.

Read More

Plastic, Scott Guild

For fans of Interior Chinatown and American War, a surreal, hilarious, and sneakily profound debut novel that casts our current climate of gun violence and environmental destruction in a surprising new mold. “A stunningly brilliant novel. One of those books that will follow you around, into your dreams and your […]

Read More

Turning the Tide

Turning the Tide: The Youngest Generation Spotlight Series Children’s bookshelf | YA/teen bookshelf | Book reviews | Spotlights | Resources and teacher links | Games | Films News: June/July’s Indie Corner spotlight shines on Adrian So, young author of the children’s novel The Groundworld Heroes. Teen Library Toolbox: From Page […]

Read More

Pearce Oysters, Joselyn Takacs

Pearce Oysters, a lush, evocative, finely-drawn debut novel set on the Louisiana coastline during the historic 2010 oil spill, follows the Pearce family, local oyster farmers whose business, family, and livelihood are all on the brink of collapse. Eye-opening, eco-fiction at its best, Pearce Oysters highlights the grit and beauty […]

Read More

Last House, Jessica Shattuck

“Last House soars, sweeping us through the 1960s to the near future, and following the river of oil that influences American policy. But the novel’s great beating heart is the particularities of the lives of two captivating women–one bound by social mores, the other trying to dismantle them. The sublime […]

Read More

Spotlight – Charlie J. Stephens

About the Book Charlie J. Stephens‘ A Wounded Deer Leaps Highest came out by Torrey House Press this April. In 1980’s Oregon, Smokey is figuring out how to survive childhood with a young mom who is increasingly desperate in her search for love. As their mother’s boyfriends come and go, […]

Read More

Author Quotes

A sample of author quotes in Dragonfly.eco’s interviews going back to 2013: Humans have historically found ways to tell stories about our origins, and I wanted to consider this big moment of change an opportunity to rewrite who we think we are, merging aspects of who we’ve been with who […]

Read More

InSight, Paul S. Piper

Can too much insight be dangerous? Jack Toyokata, a coder in the Seattle high-tech world, begins experiencing severe memory loss and resorts to an Internet supplement called InSight. Remarkably, the supplement works, but it has side-effects. Jack begins experiencing dreams of past murders from the victim’s point of view. With […]

Read More