All

Madukka the River Serpent, Julie Janson

Madukka the River Serpent is a striking novel about family and resistance from Australian Darug Burruberongal writer and playwright Julie Janson. Read more at The University of Western Australia press.

Read More

Wild Mountain Series, Clara Hume

We will indefinitely feature a couple of our own titles, which fit perfectly into the genre of eco-fiction. To receive a review copy of these titles, or my novella Bird Song, please fill out this form. I appreciate honest reviews as well as your support of this site. This was […]

Read More

Indie Corner – Amy Smiley

Back to the Indie Corner series This month I talk with Amy Smiley, author of Hiking Underground (Atmosphere Press, January 2023). Mary: Hi, Amy! So good to meet you. I have a few questions about your new novel Hiking Underground. We can start with what propelled you to write this […]

Read More

Heavy Weather, Kevan Manwaring et al.

Heavy Weather: Tempestuous Tales of Stranger Climes: Since Odysseus’ curious crew first unleashed the bag of winds gifted him by Aeolus, the God of Winds, literature has been awash with tales of bad or strange weather. From the flood myths of Babylon, the Mahabharata and the Bible, to 20th century […]

Read More

Foxhunt, Rem Wigmore

In a lush future, plants have stripped most of the poison from the air and bounty hunters keep resource hoarders in check. Orfeus only wants to be a travelling singer, famed and adored. She has her share of secrets, but she’s no energy criminal, so why does a bounty hunter […]

Read More

Sordidez, E.G. Condé

Vero has always felt at odds with his community. As a trans man in near-future Puerto Rico, he struggles to gain acceptance for his identity and his vision of an inclusive society. After a hurricane decimates the island and Puerto Rico is abandoned by the United States, Vero leaves his […]

Read More

The Summer Prince, Alaya Dawn Johnson

In this dystopian fantasy set in a futuristic version of Brazil, June Costas creates art to rebel against (what else) an oppressive government regime. She finds an unlikely ally in Enki, the universally beloved Summer King, who reciprocates her need to make sense of a chaotic society through art. -Rolling […]

Read More

The Last Resort, Michael Kaufman

It’s March 2034, six months after D.C. police detective Jen Lu and Chandler, her sentient bio-computer and wannabe tough guy implanted in her brain, cracked the mystery of Eden. The climate crisis is hitting harder than ever: a mega-hurricane has devastated the eco-system and waves of refugees pour into Washington, […]

Read More

Bioluminescent, Justine Norton-Kertson, et al.

Bioluminescent: A Lunarpunk Anthology: From space witches and communities of pagans finding harmony with nature to ecotopias aglow with bioluminescent plants, this first ever lunarpunk anthology brings a more spiritual, magical, and fantastical side to solarpunk worlds still set within the context of the climate crisis, the struggle for solutions […]

Read More

The Marigold, Andrew F. Sullivan

In a near-future Toronto buffeted by environmental chaos and unfettered development, an unsettling new lifeform begins to grow beneath the surface, feeding off the past.

Read More

Dinosaurs, Lydia Millet

Dinosaurs is both sharp-edged and tender, an emotionally moving, intellectually resonant novel that asks: In the shadow of existential threat, where does hope live?

Read More

Black River, Nilanjana S. Roy

For the most part, Delhi turns its back on her, staining her swollen body with its ashes and garbage and sewage, choking her with the city’s waste, its discards, its corpses and diseases,” writes Nilanjana Roy in Black River. –The Print India This shockingly powerful literary thriller is set in […]

Read More

Camp Zero, Michelle Min Sterling

In a near-future northern settlement, a handful of climate change survivors find their fates intertwined in this mesmerizing and transportive novel in the vein of Station Eleven and The Power.

Read More

Indie Corner – Jill Stukenberg

I’m so happy to welcome Jill Stukenberg to the Indie Corner and discuss her new novel News of the Air (Black Lawrence Press 2022). During our email exchange, I found some commonalities, including our love for northern Wisconsin, a place that also shaped my youth. Jill’s novel News of the […]

Read More

Pod, Laline Paull

Laline Paull returns with an immersive and transformative new novel of an ocean world—its extraordinary creatures, mysteries, and mythologies—that is increasingly haunted by the cruelty and ignorance of the human race. An astonishing and immersive new novel, Pod takes the reader into the depths of the ocean—and into the world […]

Read More