Dystopian

How High We Go in the Dark, Sequoia Nagamatsu

“Wondrous, and not just in the feats of imagination, which are so numerous it makes me dizzy to recall them, but also in the humanity and tenderness with which Sequoia Nagamatsu helps us navigate this landscape. . . . This is a truly amazing book, one to keep close as […]

Read More

Skyseed, Bill McGuire

‎Thanks so much to the author for letting me know about his novel Skyseed. Skyseed is an eco-thriller about climate engineering gone wrong, and the awful consequences for humanity and our world. Reviews: ‘Skyseed has what good thrillers always need…..a world to save, characters with a bit of go in […]

Read More

O Man of Clay, Eliza Mood (Review)

O Man of Clay by Eliza Mood ISBN: 978-1939269959 Publisher: Stairwell Books Publication date: December 2, 2019 Review by Mary Woodbury Ursula K. Le Guin once said that speculative fiction was more about the real world than we usually imagine, and that’s true when it comes to authors writing about […]

Read More

Darklands, Arnav Das Sharma

India is reeling from an environmental catastrophe, water has replaced oil as the most valuable commodity, and our cities have become nightmarish places infested with gangs, secretive corporations, and powerful religious figures. Arnav Das Sharma’s coming-of-age novel in an all-too-real Indian dystopia falters But the promise of being a dystopic […]

Read More

The Body Scout, Lincoln Michael

Diamond-sharp and savagely wry, The Body Scout is a timely science fiction thriller debut set in an all-too-possible future, perfect for readers of William Gibson. In Michel’s cyberpunk New York of the future, climate change and repeated pandemics have ravaged the city; meanwhile, cybernetic body modification is de rigeur, and […]

Read More

Harrow, Joy Williams

In her first novel since The Quick and the Dead (a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize), the legendary writer takes us into an uncertain landscape after an environmental apocalypse, a world in which only the man-made has value, but some still wish to salvage the authentic.

Read More

Ark of the Apocalypse, Tobin Marks (Review)

Ark of the Apocalypse by Tobin Marks ISBN: 978-1-63337-237-5 Publisher: Boyle & Dalton Publication date: March 14, 2021 Review by Mary Woodbury Review Tobin Marks’ Ark of the Apocalypse is, in part, a thrilling, page-turning journey into a fictionalized history of our world, with a look-back at some of our […]

Read More

Terminal Boredom: Stories, Izumi Suzuki, et al.

In a future where men are contained in ghettoized isolation, women enjoy the fruits of a queer matriarchal utopia – until a boy escapes and a young woman’s perception of the world is violently interrupted. Thanks to Booknet Canada for the BiblioShare plugin.    

Read More

Something New Under the Sun, Alexandra Kleeman

Set in a darkly unsettling near-future Hollywood, a novelist trying to fix his troubled marriage reckons with connectedness, ambition, and corruption in the age of ecological collapse in this piercing novel from the prize-winning author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine. Thanks to Booknet Canada for the […]

Read More

Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, Hayao Miyazaki

This is the Box Set of Hayao Miyazaki’s epic series. Translated by David Lewis and Toren Smith. The publication date represents that of the boxed set, though the series began in 1984. Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind is an epic fantasy tale written and illustrated by legendary Studio […]

Read More

The High House, Jessie Greengrass

The water is rising around a coastal hideaway in which five people, including a small child, are trapped, as civilisation is engulfed by flood. –The Spectator Goodreads Reviews Back to Goodreads

Read More

Redder Days, Sue Rainsford

…One wonders if there wasn’t something in the air over the past few years that contributed to Redder Days’ sense of foreboding. Certainly, given the international rise of the far-right and the growing threat of ecological disaster, there has been – literally – a shift in temperature. –Hotpress.com Goodreads Reviews […]

Read More

Termination Shock, Neal Stephenson

The #1 New York Times bestselling author returns with a visionary technothriller about climate change. Neal Stephenson’s sweeping, prescient new novel transports readers to a near-future world where the greenhouse effect has inexorably resulted in a whirling-dervish troposphere of superstorms, rising sea levels, global flooding, merciless heat waves, and virulent, […]

Read More