Speculative

The Morningside, Téa Obreht

After fleeing their home, Silvia and her mother have relocated to a crumbling luxury tower—the Morningside—in a not-so-distant future where their city is half underwater. This touching and inventive novel follows a young woman searching for meaning and belonging, both through her loving aunt’s stories and the enigmatic resident of […]

Read More

Indie Corner – Overlord, Eric James Fullilove

Back to the Indie Corner series Today I chat with Eric James Fullilove, author of Overlord (Atmosphere Press), a climate change speculative fiction novel. Eric James Fullilove is an MIT graduate, CPA, and published author. He has worked in mainstream media (CBS, Young and Rubicam advertising, and Scholastic, the children’s […]

Read More

Yours for the Taking, Gabrielle Korn

At once a mesmerizing story of queer love, betrayal, and chosen family, and an unflinching indictment of white, corporate feminism, Gabrielle Korn’s Yours for the Taking holds a mirror to our own world, in all its beauty and horror. Read more from Penguin.

Read More

Planeta Blu – Rise of Agoo, Tem Blessed

Writer: Tem Blessed Artist and colorist: Michael LaRiccia Planeta Blu – Rise of Agoo is a fantastic afro-futuristic graphic novel adventure that tells the tale of New Bedford inner-city youth: Lares, her brother Angel, Tomé, and Tyler as they fight to save humanity and animal kind from the apocalyptic plans […]

Read More

The Great Transition, Nick Fuller Googins

For fans of Station Eleven and The Last Thing He Told Me, this richly imaginative, immersive, and “profound” (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future. Read more at Simon & Schuster. […]

Read More

Indie Corner – Earth’s Ecocide, David A. Collier

Back to the Indie Corner series The Earth’s Ecocide science fiction series is a thousand-year story of humanity struggling to cope with climate destruction and the awakening of artificial intelligence. What will life be like if global average temperatures increase 2°, 4°, or 8° Celsius? What will life be like […]

Read More

Indie Corner – Zilla Novikov

Back to the Indie Corner series I’m thrilled to introduce Zilla Novikov and her new novel Query (tRaum, April 27, 2023). At the end of 2022, in December’s Dragonfly newsletter, I talked about increasing essays rather than interviews coming in the new year, and this is the first Indie Corner […]

Read More

Wild Mountain Series, Clara Hume

We will indefinitely feature a couple of our own titles, which fit perfectly into the genre of eco-fiction. To receive a review copy of these titles, or my novella Bird Song, please fill out this form. I appreciate honest reviews as well as your support of this site. This was […]

Read More

Spotlight – Oghenechovwe Ekpeki, Zelda Knight, and Sheree Renée Thomas

Click here to return to the world eco-fiction series About the Book From award-winning editorial team Sheree Renée Thomas, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, and Zelda Knight comes an anthology of 32 original stories showcasing the breadth of fantasy and science fiction from Africa and the African diaspora: Africa Risen: A New […]

Read More

Cold, Jim Pearce

The near future is a world in which scientists and their AI got it wrong. Rising temperatures have caused fires that burned landmasses, and the ash from these fires block out the sun. The resulting cold is extreme, like a nuclear winter, and was a mass extinction event for human […]

Read More

Tipping Point/Counterpoint, Michelle Cook

From Crooked Cat & Darkstroke Books: Tipping Point What would you risk to turn back the tide? Essie Glass might have been a typical eighteen-year-old—had life not dealt her an early blow. Struggling to come to terms with the loss of her family in a terrorist attack, and left with […]

Read More

The Mountain in the Sea, Ray Naylor

Humankind discovers intelligent life in an octopus species with its own language and culture, and sets off a high-stakes global competition to dominate the future. A near-future thriller about the nature of consciousness, Ray Nayler’s The Mountain in the Sea is a dazzling literary debut and a mind-blowing dive into […]

Read More

Cascade, Rachel A. Rosen

Rachel A. Rosen’s debut novel, Cascade, has been described as magic realism, climate fantasy and, as its publisher prefers, fantasy that feels like science fiction. Set in a terrifying but all-too believable near future and leavened with a dry wit, Cascade features a cast of fully realized characters drawn into […]

Read More

Denial, Jon Raymond

A futuristic thriller about climate change by the acclaimed screenwriter of First Cow, Meek’s Cutoff, and HBO’s Mildred Pierce. Denial is both a page-turning speculative suspense novel and a powerful existential inquisition about the perilous moment in which we currently live.

Read More